Robotics applied to:

  • Hydro, Nuclear, Thermal, Wind, and Solar Power Generation Systems;
  • Transmission Lines and Substations;
  • Underground and Overhead Distribution Systems;
  • Underwater Structures;
  • Construction, Inspection, Maintenance, Refurbishment and Security;
  • AI and Big Data;
  • Substation and Plant Robots;
  • Unmanned Aerial and Ground Vehicles;
  • Sensor Fusion;
  • Automated Diagnosis;
  • Smart Grids;
  • Wind Farm Technology;

Scope of contributions may be:

  • UAV, ROV, mobile robotics, teleoperation, manipulator, automation, field robotics;
  • Utilities roadmap, field experience, benefits and implementation;
  • Design, simulation and prototyping;

Sponsored by:


Authors are invited to submit original research contributions in English, in the form of an extended abstract up to 1000 words.

Authors should submit their abstracts electronically in PDF format via EasyChair:

Reviewing for CARPI 2018 will be double blind, so authors must remove their names from the submitted abstracts and should take reasonable care not to indirectly disclose their identity.

Three program committee members will be assigned to review each abstract. Acceptance will be based on the abstract's significance, technical quality, clarity, relevance and originality.

After acceptance, six pages in the standard IEEE format are allowed for each paper, including figures, with up to two extra pages with an extra payment per extra page. Papers must be written in English following the standard IEEE guidelines:

( blishing/templates.html)

Accepted papers will be scheduled for presentation, which requires that at least one of the authors registers at the Conference and presents the paper. Failure to meet this requirement will imply removing the paper from the proceedings.

Organizing Committee:

General Chair:

João Gomes Mota (Albatroz-PT);

Publications Chair:

João Sequeira (IST-ULisboa-PT);

Program Chair:

Paulo Oliveira (IST-ULisboa-PT);

Local Arrangements Chair:

Alexandra Moutinho (IST-ULisboa-PT);

Web Contact Chair:

Luís Monteiro (Albatroz-PT)

Program Committee:

Hongguang Wang (SIA – CN);

John Lindberg (EPRI – USA);

João P. S. Catalão (UBI – PT);

Walter Fetter Lages (UFRGS – BR);

Paulo Debenest (HiBot – JP);

Nicolas Pouliot (IREQ – CA);

Janos Toth (Enginomix – USA);

Paulo Branco (IST–ULisboa– PT);

Rui Melício (U. Évora – PT);

Pascal Morin (ISIR – FR);

João Afonso (U. Minho – PT);

Plenary Speakers:

Carlos Silvestre (U.Macau – MO);

Serge Montambault (IREQ-CA);

Lorenzo Marconi (U.Bologne-IT);